Oatcakes

April 24, 2011 § Leave a comment

Like many others who follow along in this world of food blogging, I purchased Heidi Swanson’s new book ‘super natural every day’ as soon as it came out.  Yesterday I sat down to make a list of the recipes I would make this week (Spinach Chop, Quinoa Patties, Farro Soup), when I came to the recipe for oatcakes.  I’m not a fan of oatcakes for the same reasons mentioned by Ms. Swanson – they are usually dry and tasteless, and since they are most often sold alongside muffins in a pastry case, there is little reason to choose one.  I was intrigued by her suggestion that there could exist one that was tasty and moist and so I made a batch.

The oatcakes were astoundingly quick to make: from preheating the oven to pulling them out took about 50 minutes.  And while my batch were not dense and puck-like they were still a bit dry and a bit too sweet.  They were edible and actually very well liked by a visiting 7-year-old.  This batch will get eaten and I will try again, but next time I’m going to make some modifications.  For those,  see the recipe below and if you want to follow Ms. Swanson’s recipe from start to finish you can find it on page 204 of her book.

OATCAKES

From Heidi Swanson’s super natural every day

  • 3 cups rolled oats – be sure to use proper rolled oats, not instant breakfast oats.
  • 2 cups whole-wheat baking/pastry flour – the original recipe calls for spelt flour, which I happened to have on hand, and used. Next time I’m going to use a mix of all baking and/or pastry/all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 2 teaspoons fine grain sea salt
  • 1/4 flax seeds – I may try a mix of chia and flax next time.
  • 3/4 cup of nuts or dried fruit – the original recipe calls for walnuts but I have an aversion to walnuts in baked goods so I just left them out without any substitutes.  I’m going to try little pieces of dried apricots or prunes in my next batch.
  • 1/3 cup coconut oil – I’ll add a tablespoon more to see if that helps with the dryness
  • 1/3 cup unsalted butter
  • 3/4 cup of maple syrup – as I said mine were too sweet so I think I’ll cut this to a 1/2 cup and maybe try using a mix of maple and agave
  • 1/2 cane sugar – I think brown sugar would be fine here if you don’t have cane, and maybe cut the quantity a bit
  • 2 large eggs lightly beaten

These bake in a 12 cup buttered muffin tin in a 325-degree oven.  Mix the dry ingredients and then in a small heavy pan melt over very low heat melt the coconut oil (mine is always in a solid – yours may not be), with the butter, add the syrup and the sugar, stir to melt the sugar.  Don’t let this get too hot or else when you add the eggs they may cook on contact. Mix this up to incorporate the dry ingredients and then add the eggs.  As with any baking, don’t over mix.

You should have enough to just fill each one of the 12 muffin cups.  Bake for 20 minutes and then begin testing to see if they are done.  I didn’t do this and just went on time and color (27 minutes, deep golden) and probably over-baked them, another reason why they were a bit dry.

I’m excited to try another batch to see if I can perfect these.  Let me know how yours turn out.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Oatcakes at 147Charlbury.

meta

