Redemption in a bowl of soup

October 15, 2010 § Leave a comment

When I told my husband this morning that we were having Vietnamese Chicken Soup for my French Fridays project he begged me to skip it.  Sadly, this week I burned him out on Dorie:  he had been away and came home on Sunday to leftover Gougeres and Pear Tart, followed with Mustard Tart on Thursday and even though it was his idea to make it, Lemongrass Braised Pork on Saturday night.  He enjoyed the Gougeres, liked the Pear Tart but was underwhelmed by the Tart and straight up disliked the Pork.  This post is not about the Pork but I do have to comment that it was not good.  I’m not sure where I went wrong but nothing about it worked.  The flavours didn’t come together and there was far too much liquid so it was like having pork noodle soup.

But tonight I insisted on the Vietnamese Soup simply because I am determined to follow through on my commitment to ‘French Fridays’.  ( I have to mention here that I made the soup on Monday night because I am going out of town Wed and won’t be able too cook on Friday).  And thank goodness it was DELICIOUS.  Everything about it was right and I won’t say more about how good it was because it doesn’t need to be said.

Small things to do differently:

  • Don’t chop the onions.  Add thin slices. This will allow you to get onion with each bite – the tiny chopped pieces get missed and end up in a heap at the bottom of the bowl.
  • Use chopsticks.  Otherwise you won’t be able to eat it as it should be eaten.  You’ll see what I mean when you try to eat it with a spoon – those rice noodles are slippery little things.
  • Have hot sauce ready.  This soup can take the heat and not lose the coconut/lime flavour.

Thank you Dorie – French Fridays have been redeemed.

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Redemption in a bowl of soup at 147Charlbury.

meta

