My first French Friday

October 3, 2010 § 3 Comments

I came across Tuesdays with Dorie a little to late to join in.  So now I am going to take my first leap into blogging by joining French Fridays with Dorie.  My copy of the book arrived Thursday and with work, school and a husband still out of town I thought there was no way I would get to the Gougeres any time soon.  It was thus a blessing and a curse that my daughter started throwing up on Saturday morning (traumatizing her friend who was sitting next to her).  A curse because we had a good day planned but in the end it turned out alright as I got to jump into the Gougeres while she napped on the couch.

And, they turned out great.  Things to do differently next time:

  • If serving them with nothing else add more cheese or use a sharper one.  I didn’t get much of a cheese flavour out of mine.
  • Put the batter in a piping bag.  I struggled with sticky dough and a tablespoon and ended up with unevenly sized mounds and in the end only had 28 Gougeres (recipe said it would make 36).
  • I froze 10 so I’ll come back and comment on how those turn out.

Overall – incredibly easy and would make them again.  A friend of mine cuts them in half and fills them with chicken salad…I think I’ll try that next time.

Tagged:

§ 3 Responses to My first French Friday

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading My first French Friday at 147Charlbury.

meta

